Yeah, What He Said

Christianity would have you believe that we are born evil and must accept Jesus as our lord and savior in order to save ourselves from burning in the fiery pits of hell. In the same breath they say that we are born with free will and are free to choose our fate.

That’s like me saying you have a choice between telling me you love me or getting a bullet in the brain. In what way does that prove how much you love me? Rather I think it would prove how much you want to live. It is interesting how otherwise intelligent people do not understand this analogy and insist that all who choose god do so because they love god and not because they are trying to save their own afterlife.

A more honest approach would have a person choose god or not choose god with an equal level of benefits and consequences to each choice. This would be more like; tell me you love me and we’ll be together forever in a monogamous relationship or don’t tell me you love me and we part ways which leaves you free to find the person you want to be with for all eternity.

But since the Christian doctrine chooses to be stubborn and hold onto illogical doctrine, I think it is safe to say that this is the true reason why:

Russell’s Teapot

Comic courtesy of Russell’s Teapot

I’m going to hell in a hand basket but at least I’ll be with all my friends!

15 thoughts on “Yeah, What He Said

  1. I think it’s interesting from a psychological perspective how Christian Fundamentalists believe they must SAVE everyone that doesn’t believe as they do.

    It makes them feel important, that they are part of a special group…and that they are on a mission.

  2. Hi Phoenix,

    Yeah I never understood that. I once asked a Christian why it mattered whether or not they “save” a person and they tossed me some line about god wanting everyone in heaven. I came back with “But why does it matter to YOU. You’re already going to heaven. Is this like a MLM scam where each person you recruit increases your profit as the Upline?” They had no answer for me and needless to say, they didn’t try to convert me again. 😛

    Hi Dirt,

    Thanks for stopping by my corner of the web. I like Blogcatalog though I haven’t partaken of all that it has to offer.

    I got the comic from Russell’s Teapot which I stumbled across while on StumbleUpon. They have a ton more like it.

    **BTW, in response to your latest post, there are woman who like Yaoi and who also write it. I once belonged to a forum for erotica writers who had a section dedicated to that. I can’t remember the name of it though. Sorry.

  3. Once again your wisdom makes me sit up and go, “hmmm, she’s got a point…”

    I like the comparison to the MLM scam. In fact, I believe that would explain all those damn toaster ovens I see in folks’ kitchens… They’re level prizes!

    Good job, as usual.

  4. @ Ms. Karen,

    LOL! I think when one becomes a full fledge fundamentalist that one gets a secret catalogue in the mail or something of all the good prizes they will get if they can just convert x more souls.

    Toaster ovens are just the beginning. I’m sure there are “Spiritual Yachts” and the all important “Members Only” country club in the sky.

    Hugs 🙂

  5. @MS Karen, I never thought of it that way, but you are right, religion just might be humanities oldest pyramid scheme! I don’t have a lot of input on this subject, but I just started reading a lot by Richard Dawkins, and really like what he has to say.

    Cheers!
    Amanda

  6. awesome Post Daria*

    U would love god is not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything by Christopher Hitchens

    it is an excellent Read!!

    this group is awesome too http://www.WorldCantWait.org

    + their Orange Fridays movement to Impeach the Bush Regime – who truly think they are on a Mission from god*

    Cheers Daria!! Billy ;))

    Peace*

  7. A friend of mine is so anti-christian, I find her to be as tiresome as the doorbelling fundies. She doesn’t seem to grasp the fact that her constant ridicule of religion (all religions) is just as irritating as those who thump the bible for Jesus.

    It isn’t so much the foundation of the faith that bothers me, but how it’s shared with others, and how you accept others’ beliefs.

    (I do not like the hotel’s computer, so I won’t keep blathering…) Suffice it to say, it doesn’t matter what house you’re in when you’re throwing rocks, the point is you’re still throwing the damn rocks.

    *sigh* Time to head back up to the room and make another suggestion they can shoot down.

  8. @ Billy,

    Hey thanks for stopping by Billy. I’ll have to check out that book. I don’t really follow politics but even I agree that Bush needs to go. Right now. I’ll visit the site and see what’s what. I certainly hope we are able to get him out of office before he gets into his head that he needs to push the Armageddon switch.

    @Ms. Karen,

    There are extremes every where you look. I once met a person who hated human beings which I thought was kind of strange. To this day I wonder how she reconciled the fact that she was human with her hatred of humanity. Maybe secretly she thought she was from another planet.

  9. Thanks for stopping by, MulledVine. I tried to go to the page but it is giving me a 404 error. When I get a chance, I’ll try to search the site for it so I can take a look.

Comments are closed.