Ask Google: What is the Point?

I seemed to have moved beyond manic depression into just straight depression. I can’t decide if it’s a step up or a step down. The problem with depression is that it’s like a hydra. Whenever I cut off one head, another springs up in it’s place.

These are the times when I like to play a game of Magic Eight Ball with Google. I’ll type in a vague question and see what comes up. Sometimes I get things that fit the question. Sometimes I get things that are way off base but offer a bit of entertainment value. At the very least, combing through the search result keeps my mind busy and allows me to forget, if for an hour or two, how depressed I am.

So today I typed in “What’s the Point?” and got these results:

A Youtube video of Bill Hicks talking about life being like a ride on roller coaster.

A partial transcript of a question and answer session where the questioner asks “What is the point of of living in a universe with no purpose?” wherein the responder offers a pretty damn good answer.

A page on Global Voices Online discussing “What is the point of MBC Persia?” which is apparently is a new television station launched by satelite television company MBC that offers news and movies translated into the Persian language.

Angry Bear asks “What’s the Point of Credit Default Insurance?”. At first I thought he was talking about that credit insurace credit card companies want you to sign up for when you get their card that supposedly will pay your credit card balance should you lose your job. Only it wasn’t. I’m not sure what the post was about as the entire post flew over my head. Maybe you’ll have better luck.

Also on the list was a book on the UK Amazon.com site called “What is the Point of Being a Christian?” Good question. One that I asked myself some years ago and you all know the result of that.

And last but not at all least, Humphrys Family Tree answers the question of “What’s the Point of Family Trees?”. Fascinating stuff.

So the moral of this post is that anytime you are feeling lost, depressed or just plain bored, play a game of Magic Eight Ball with Google. You might get some interesting answers in return.

10 thoughts on “Ask Google: What is the Point?

  1. I have a feeling this could get to be as addictive as stumble is for me. But to tell you the truth, this is one of the reasons I LOVE to do research. I may not find out anything about what is on my list, but I sure learn a lot about other stuff.

    And that, dear lady, is why my damn “favorites” folder is so full. I keep finding great sites by accident. One of these days, I hope to go back and visit them. All of them.

    Yes, you may laugh.

  2. Hi Ms. Karen,

    Yes it is very addictive. I just cleared out my favorites folder a few days ago but already it’s stuffed full of stuff that “I’ll read later”. LoL.

    Hi Ajree,

    I write erotica. Currently, I’m working on an short story collection. Sure I’ll read your story. You can send me a link to it at smutwriter at gmail dot com or you can contact me through my contact page on my website http://smutwriting.com/contact/.

  3. Hey there, darlin’!

    I keep checking the feeds hoping for new stuff, but alas, the blog is quiet.

    How are you? I hope life is well for you.

  4. Hi Ms. Karen,

    Life is life. I keep thinking about getting back to blogging but I can’t seem to find the motivation. I think my time on the internet is done. On the one hand it’s sad but on the other it’s inevitable I suppose.

    I hope everything is going well with you. Hugs 🙂

  5. I do hope you’re still writing. Your talent is one that shouldn’t be wasted, dear Daria. You have my e-mail address if you’d like to chat. Life is interesting on my end of the universe… happier, but chaotic.

    • Oh thank you Ms. Karen. You are so sweet.

      Mostly I’ve been journaling and trying to exorcise those inner demons. Every once in awhile I open my fiction folder and paw through my story ideas but I can’t seem to get my head around actually writing them. I was recently contacted by another writer regarding collaborating on a story. I’m sorely tempted to email her my entire hard drive and let her go to town. We’ll see.

  6. I went through a very rough dry spell a few years ago. It lasted just over a year and I was terrified that it would be there forever. The only thing I could do was write in the journal and mope.

    Pawing through the fiction folders didn’t help me much either, it just made me sad to think I may never finish those stories.

    But it came back, and I’m glad. I hope yours comes back, too.

Comments are closed.