WordPress Tip: Post Dated Posts

So I’m going to pass on a tip to everyone that I, myself, learned about recently. Thinking about it, I can’t really believe I hadn’t thought about this before but I suppose it’s just a matter of getting the information you need when you really need it.

WordPress allows you to write posts and set them publish at a later date. To do this, write your post as normal but before you publish it, change the timestamp to the time and date you want the post to publish.

The timestamp can be found, usually, on the right hand side at the bottom of the post option sidebar.

WordPress Timestamp

WordPress will hold your posts (no one but you will be able to see them) until the time you set for it to publish. I’ve found this to be an invaluable tool for me because there are times when I am prolific and others when I’m not (due to depression or time constraints). So I’ve figured out that when I’m feeling motivated that I can write a bunch of posts and then just set them to publish at differing times so as to cover for those times when I don’t feel like writing.

Unfortunately this does not work with Blogger. Setting a future date on a post in Blogger will only make it stay at the top of all the other posts on your blog until the date/time that you set has passed. Just one more reason why you should all join the collective and get WordPress 🙂

Namaste

Shameless self-promotion: For more tips on blogging visit the Webernet Architect Design Studio.

One thought on “WordPress Tip: Post Dated Posts

  1. Pingback: eBestAgent

Comments are closed.