Extremism In Any Language Means Bad

I’m supposed to be writing so of course I’m doing everything else but. I’m not quite sure how I found myself at God is 4 Suckers but I was there wasting time and catching up on the latest articles. GI4S is a news/commentary website run by atheists for atheists. I spend lot time there reading the articles and learning a lot about the issues facing atheists in America and generally trying to feel less alone in my non-belief. One truly is the loneliest number and, if you don’t believe me, then you try being the only atheist in a family full of Christians.

Anyway, a link in the comment section of one of the articles led me to one of the most horrifying videos I have ever seen. It is even more distressing than seeing the Twin Towers crumbling to dust right before my eyes. Warning, this video contains footage not suitable for all audiences. Please hide your children, cats, dogs and maybe even yourself.

The people in the video are the members of the Westboro Baptist Church. If you have forgotten who these people are let me jog your memory. These are the same people who have been picketing at the funerals of soldiers who died in Iraq. Their leader, Shirly Phelps Roper went toe to toe with Fox news anchorwoman Julie Banderas (see video here ) and proved to the world why abortion should be kept legal and encouraged in some cases. They have this thing against homosexuals and never pass up the opportunity to offer up their opinion that our acceptance of homosexuals is the reason why we are all going to hell in a hand basket.

These people are all certifiable nutcases but the scariest thing about this is that these people are only the tip of the iceberg. There are many others in this country who have the same and/or similar beliefs as the members of this church except they get less press coverage. Islam does not have the market on extremism. Christian Fundamentalists have been the bane of society since the inception of the religion two thousand years ago and can be found in all areas of life from your local mail carrier to the Oval Office.

Many people are fooled into thinking that Fundies are just harmless lunatics but I beg to differ and this is why. These people think that the bible is the truth, the whole and nothing but the truth. They absolutely, positively will not entertain any thought or evidence that points to the opposite and will fight to the death to prove they are right. I truly and honestly believe that if “Armageddon” did come about it was because some fundie was sick and tired of waiting around for the big “G” to do it.

Namaste

4 thoughts on “Extremism In Any Language Means Bad

  1. As a catholic I can only say…I hope God lands a big-ass lightning bolt on these people.

    Fundies keep forgetting that Christianity is supposed to be about love, not about hate…and fundies are about nothing but hate.

    It is indeed the most disturbing video I’ve seen in a long long time.

  2. Hi Vox,

    Thank you for stopping by. I agree that something needs to be done. I am an atheist and even I think these people are giving religion a bad name.

    A friend of mine sent me another disturbing video about Creationism vs. Evolution that I’m going to blog about in a few days.

    🙂

  3. Gaaah! These people make me crazy! It’s a good thing I’m already going to hell (according to some people), because if THOSE folks are going to be in heaven, then I don’t want to be there.

    I’ve seen their “work” before, and I know they do not represent everyone from the non-denominational section of Christianity. Still, they make enough noise to make people think otherwise. I have my own reasons for turning to Paganism, but even if I wasn’t already there, seeing what they do would push me in that direction.

  4. It’s enough to make anyone leave the religion and according to the statistics I’ve seen that’s exactly what’s happening. These fanatics just don’t realize that they are alienating their own.

Comments are closed.