Yahoo Shows Some Class: Robots-NoContent

So I’ve been trying to get a handle on all of this SEO business and making sure that my website is pretty enough (read optimized) to attract the major search engine robots. So far, only Google is showing me any sort of traffic love and I’m beginning to feel like even that is nothing more than a mercy flirt.

Participating in memes is a great way to meet people as well as allow your readers to get to know better. As most memes keep a master list of all the participants, it is also a great way to find new blogs to read as well as drum up more traffic to your own blog.
Anyways, I headed on over to the Yahoo blog to find out what it will take to get even just a handshake from them when low and behold I find this beauteous gem.

From what I understand, the “robots-nocontent” attribute will help you filter out portions of your web page that have nothing to do with the main content. From the Yahoo Help Pages:

When a “robots-nocontent” tag is used to mark a section of content on a web page, Yahoo! will not use the terms contained in that section as information for finding the page or for the abstract of that page in search results.

So if you have a navigation bar, such as I do, that shows up on each page, you can prevent Yahoo from using the words contained within it as search terms and prevent that portion of the site from showing up in the description abstract for that web page, something which I’m struggling with right now with Google.

The main benefit I see is that this will help make sure the right pages are showing up in the search results for the keywords you want. For example, if you do a search on my name rather than pull up my “About Me” page, you may instead get a random page on my website because my name is in the footer of the template. I can filter this out from even being considered as a usable source by using the “robots-nocontent” class and thus allowing my “About Me” page to become the more relevant web page for my name. This will also prevent the information in the footer from being displayed in the abstract for that web page.

You can use this call on all Xhtml tags including div, p and span. For examples of this visit the Yahoo Faq sheet.

